How Deep Do You Dig??

richg

Jun 15, 2004
Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
minelab products
I am new to metal detecting and still trying to figure out my garrett gti 1500. I know there are several factors that affect how deep your detector goes, but I seem to find decent targets in the 25-50 cent range and dinging like crazy but after digging down about 16 inches on several occasions I just gave up and filled the hole in. Should I continue to dig or do you think its a false signal or something?? I did dig it once before it was about 13 inches down and I got a crushed up soda can. I also read on various message boards that after 6 inches the treasure imaging is not accurate, is this correct?? If this is correct how do you guys know what to dig and what not to dig? Thanks for any info.

Upvote 0
F

flash

You have a nice detector.I don't own the 1500 but I have used one.Maybe you need to get used to the machine.That unit has target size,ID and depth,they are pretty accurate also.Do you look at all this info before you dig?No detector is accurate when it comes to deep targets.
16" is to far to dig,exspecially if you are looking for a coin,but I'm sure you know that.

Large Aluminum, iron and steel fool most detectors,reading coins..well at least mine does.The deepest coin I have found yet was a quarter at 8-9 inches.

What I do is lift the coil off the ground with these deeper targets.If it is still picking up the target with the coil 10-12 inches off the ground,,its not a coin!And you know it is something big.Then I decide if I still want to dig it.I'll dig 10"-12" if the pinpointer dont pick it up at that point ,,I quit.

Or you can do like my friend that owns a gti 1500.If it is deeper that 8 " ,,he don't touch it.He does well though.Its all a matter of trial and error.There is no easy answer,but I try to at least get a look a look at whatever it is.

Good luck,,

OP
OP
R

richg

Jun 15, 2004
Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
minelab products