Is it worth paying to get a 'dug' coin graded?

Capncrunch

Mar 25, 2020
KCMO Area
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster 5000, Fisher F22, Quest X10, Nokta Makro Simplex+, Nokta Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Ok, a little background: I have been detecting for a little over 2 years (this time) but off and on, all my life- my folks bought me a $19.99 Sears detector for Christmas, when I was 10ish, and my first find was a 1907 IHP.
I currently have a permission that is an 1832 Mansion (literally 4500+ sqft), and the owner is a coin collector. The agreement we made was that we would split everything 50/50, but he has been very generous and allowed me to keep most of my finds, after he examines them.
However, I finally found a pretty valuable coin and we are needing to divide the value 50/50, as agreed.
I THOUGHT it would be smart to get it graded and then either sell it, and split the proceeds, or one of us could buy-out the other. Then I saw how much money the grading companies want- to clean, grade, encase, and ship (seems they add cost for any and everything)- Holy Cow!
I have never had a coin graded, nor sold anything that I have detected/dug- do they usually fall below the expected value because of environmental damage? Would it add anything to the coin's value and/or is there a REASONABLE/TRUSTED grading service out there?
What is the general consensus: Is it worth the extra money to get this graded, or would we be better off just putting it up for sale and accepting what we get?
Thanks in advance for any information.
God bless!

John

UnderMiner

Silver Member
Jul 27, 2014
New York City
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excalibur II, Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting