Lets see your old lead seals, RR or other!

thrillathahunt

Silver Member
Jul 24, 2006
TEXAS
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

Attachments

• DSCN2096.JPG
    DSCN2096.JPG
    67.2 KB · Views: 2,074
  • DSCN2092.JPG
    DSCN2092.JPG
    66.5 KB · Views: 2,678
Upvote 6

Dgg19

Tenderfoot
May 3, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am just learning about them too. Pretty fascinating. " Lead seals were affixed to goods to communicate information such as place of origin, manufacture, quality, size, circulation, and taxation. Lead seals are the colonial equivalent to today’s merchandise tag. Most commonly associated with textiles, lead seals marked everything from tobacco and salt to bundles of various trade goods. Easily molded, a lead seal was affixed to a bale of goods at its place of origin (typically somewhere in Europe) and remained unmolested until the goods reached their final destination." - https://relicrecord.com/blog/lead-bale-seals-overlooked-fascinating-artifacts/

CASPER-2

Gold Member
Jan 3, 2012
NEW ENGLAND
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
WHITE'S XLT, PI PRO, GARRETT 2500, 3- FISHER CZ21s, JW FISHER 8X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have a bunch of lead seals and i have saved them but they are here and there all ever the house
in displays or boxes - i never thought to put them all in one place - you think i would have cause
almost every thing else i find is separated in containers :dontknow:

A2coins

Gold Member
Dec 20, 2015
Ann Arbor
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Im still looking for one

diggingthe1

Silver Member
Feb 11, 2015
Victor, CO...City of Mines
Detector(s) used
Minelab EQ800, Ex2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting