marble id help

hiller

Tenderfoot
Nov 15, 2009
Hi all,
This is my first time posting on this forum. I have a few marbles I dug up and would like to show you and possibly get any kind of info on them - maker, name, worth keeping? But first, who am I? Well I have a beard that has turned white. But enough on that. Years ago I spent a lot of time hunting for old bottle dumps. I'm sure a lot of you know, poison ivy, mosquito and centipede bites, cut fingers....etc. In my one track mind at the time, I would discard marbles, and flip them down the hill uninterested. Wish I had them all now... Anyway, I hadn't done any dump digging in a few years and then moved to a new area in eastern PA, and I started taking a lot of walks in the woods and found an old dump site on a hillside not far from town. I've been digging there for two years and found a few decent bottles- baby face milks, beer bottles....etc. But I've been finding a lot of marbles also. Instead of flipping them away, I now keep them. Every time I dig there, I would bring home 5-6 marbles. I can't wait for spring so I can go up there, get dirty, and hear that familiar high pitched buzzing in my ears from hungry, blood sucking insects. Anyway, that's a little about me. I will post more when I start digging. Until then, good health to all and thanks for any information passed along. The marbles run 9/16" to 5/8" in size.
Hiller

Attachments

• mymarbles.jpg
    mymarbles.jpg
    33.2 KB · Views: 418
  • mymarbles 002.jpg
    mymarbles 002.jpg
    33 KB · Views: 415
OP
OP
H

hiller

Tenderfoot
Nov 15, 2009
crazyjarhead said:
This needs to go under marble section........ :icon_sunny: Duffytrash or marbleguy will help you id . Welcome to the Net :thumbsup:

It is under marbles. Isn't it?

cheese

Silver Member
Jan 9, 2005
South Georgia
I'm not a pro, but I'll give it a stab until Duffy can come by with his help.

#1 Dunno
#2 looks like Akro agate ade of some sort?
#3 some kind of ravenswood maybe? Need better pic.