Metal detecting - part time business? Thoughts?

JAG

Nov 16, 2005
Tampa, Florida
Detector(s) used
Explorer II
I'm new to metal detecting, been only doing it a few months now and having a great time. A friend of mine is a real estate agent that sells mostly old homes and large estates and farms. He mentioned to me that one of his clients told him she wished she could find her late husbands wedding band he lost a few years back in the garden before the house sells. Now the garden is pretty big :-) I told him I would come out and search, within a couple of hours I found it and some junk :-) The homeowner insisted on paying me $50 for doing this for her and wished she could have found someone earlier to do it but had no idea where to look. She also gave me permission to search the rest of her property and she is not interested in old coins etc. She also gave me permission to search old farm land outside of the city that has been in her family for many moons. She had a hand drawn property map her husband had made showing trails, and an old wagon path. That land should take me the next two years to search? ;D

My friend the realtor said he thinks it's a good idea to offer metal detecting as a service, target realtors, hotels (for guests) etc. What do you guys think of this? Is anyone doing it? I found one guy in Canada and another in Hawaii doing beaches. How would you charge? Treat it like a service call to fix the fridge type thing?

Thoughts.

Happy Holidays :)

Thanks
Jerry

Upvote 0
Z

ZumbroKid

You should get some replies on this topic. I will have to check back after work to see how it is going. Then a can add a few things from my own experiences.

Gypsy Heart

Gold Member
Nov 29, 2005
Ozarks
Seems to me , if you are going to set it up as a business, then you need to treat it like one.
1099 contractor .
You would need to set a hourly fee to be paid, even if you dont find what they want you to.