Minelabs Explorer SE - Man - Ive had it!

Ron B

May 11, 2007
Trinidad, Colorado
Minelab's Explorer SE - Man - I've had it!

This ain't a short story so be warned ---

Granted, I'm new at this, yet old. I once did a lot of metal detecting back in the 80's. I went in big time! Bought me a Garrett Master Hunter with all the coils and hip mounting system. Also purchased 2 Fisher 1280s for water along with wet suit and all that stuff. Even owned Fisher's 1265-66 as backups. I found a lot of stuff and I didn't waste much time trying to figure out the technical part of it. No, the Garrett was not the most simple machine but it did what it was designed to do with a little help from me. The Explorer SE on the other hand is totally different.

I must admit I'm feeling a little foolish now having already invested a ridiculous amount of money to get up and going almost (4) weeks ago. (3) extra coils, Pelican case, (2) sets of Gray Ghost headphones, no less than (5) various digging implements, a Sun Ray attachable probe. You get the picture. I won't even mention the GPX 4000. Yes, I fell for the advertising hype. But, I also thought things had changed for the better considering new technology and such since I last participated in what use to be a relaxing sport! I realize things have not gotten better just the hype has!

Now, don't get me wrong or judge me as being a "quick gun" to go negative; I've done my time with the SE. I've now logged way over 150 hard hours with the machine and have used it from Northern New Mexico to Central Colorado! Hell, I've even slept with the dang thing hoping after a night or two I'd feel the karma! That part was actually easy. My wife's been out of the country for the last three weeks and I'm basically retired. :o