Mini Anvil found on Central Cal. beach...

A

acethebathound

Newbie here...hello!

I found a miniature anvil that had washed up on the beach this past weekend (Montana de Oro, San Luis Obispo County California).

It appears to be hand-cast (definately not a manufactured product) out of lead. It has quite a bit of what appears to be salt deposits on it. It is appx. 2" tall and 4" long.

I know nothing about sea-faring, but can assume that a mini-anvil would have come in handy on an old ship. Since it is apparently hand-cast out of lead and not forged in iron, I also assume it to be pretty old.

Does anyone have any ideas? Did I find a piece of history? Regardless, it is a unique and fun find.

I don't have any pics now, but if it would help I can post a scan of it later today/tomorrow.

Thanks!

OP
OP
A

acethebathound

Here's a pic...I was a little over on my measurements estimate-

It's 3" long and the top is a little more than 1/2" wide (a bit wider on the base).

Anvil.jpg

wreckdiver1715

Bronze Member
May 20, 2004
Satellite Beach
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal 1000
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome aboard the Forum, It looks more like a slightly encrusted boat cleat.

Q

OP
OP
A

acethebathound

Thanks for the replies!

I thought ?cleat? first too...there are no points of attachment though...how would it have been attached?

I don?t know how to check if it?s lead or not, but it definately isn?t iron since there is no rust...what else could it be made of?

Any guesses as to age?

FISHEYE

Bronze Member
Feb 27, 2004
lake mary florida
Detector(s) used
Chasing Dory ROV,Swellpro Splash 2 pro waterproof drone,Swellpro Spry+ wa,Wesmar SHD700SS Side Scan Sonar,U/W Mac 1 Turbo Aquasound by American Electronics,Fisher 1280x,Aquasound UW md,Aqua pulse AQ1B
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting