Need advice on which detector to buy please... V3, E-Trac or Safari

Warshrike

Nov 1, 2009
Hi everyone. I am looking for the best overall detector for my tastes. I am moving to South Florida and would like to detect the beaches as well as school yards and such. I want to finde coins, gold, silver. I am NOT much into relic hunting. Anyways, I am considering the Whites V3, the E-Trac and the Safari. Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

PS - I have 2 years experience with an ACE 250 but thats it so far. Thanks!

I would personally go with the Whites but I am a whites kind of guy/ Plus I dont care for how the numbers read on the minelabs, That ferrous /conductive numbering systems messes with me. All are good machines though. See if you have any local dealers to check them out and play around with them to see which one you like best.

I hunt with a Quattro, the early Safari.
I love the machine. Been hunting with it for two seasons now, and have lots of old silver, IHs, Buffs and V-nickels to show for it.

Having said that I would reccomend the E-Trac wholeheartedly. It uses the FBS technology, recovers very quickly, and gets great depth.

I did hunt with a friend of mine with his V-3 late this summer. Incredible machine to look at, with lots of whistles and bells!
Only problem he had was that he couldn't pick up coins at depth. We hunted side by side all day. I found Mercs, Indians, Liberty Nickels, a silver cross, a spanish dime, and a '45 Washington Quarter. He found some clad, and a Liberty Nickel.