New England Treasure

M.Brian

Greenie
Mar 18, 2018
Connecticut
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey all,

Recently have become enamored with the lost history of New England. With much of our countries beginnings happening here, there has to be a number of war relics and lost coins to be found. I am a beginner and am looking at purchasing my first detector. Does anyone have any good solid leads in Connecticut and Massachusetts’s? I recently heard of the tale of the lost Washington dollars of east granby but the story is shrouded in doubt. Being from the town the myth occurs in naturally I will have to at least give it a look myself. I would love to hear stories of any kind of quests for treasure in the New England area. Thank you and good luck to all.

Honest Samuel

Banned
Sep 23, 2015
Connecticut
Detector(s) used
Minelab
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The thirteens wagons load of gold coins burrow from France during the Rev. War at Bates Tavern is total untrue. Story been in treasure magazines for over 30 years. The Bate family who live at the tavern never heard of the story until they had read a letter to editor of a newspaper and the magazines run with it. France and our country did not have much gold. Good hunting and good luck.

Ogre1190

Bronze Member
Mar 31, 2015
Northern Illinois
Detector(s) used
MineLab E-Trac, MineLab Safari, MineLab Explorer XS,
White's 5000 D, White's 6DB, White's 5000 D GEB
Sunray X-1 for the ML's, Garrett PP for the White's and a Backhoe
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Welcome from North Central Illinois. 🙋

sataro

Jan 16, 2013
Corsicana, Texas
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800 | Nokta Simplex+ | Tesoro Mohave | Quest Xpointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Welcome from Corsicana, Texas!

RustyGold

Gold Member
Aug 16, 2013
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XP Deus I & II
Xterra Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
Welcome to TNet from Southern California. Best of luck with your research and subsequent treasure hunt.