tikirob1

Tenderfoot
Jun 19, 2018
Oregon
Detector(s) used
Fisher F44
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
OK…I’m new to all of this, I have only been out for maybe 15 hours, so I am as new as you can get. I like to research before I buy and as a beginner I ended up selecting the Fisher F44 as my first detector. So here is my first impression of the F44 and detecting in general.

I read the manual, watched the few videos that are out there. There are some (like Hunter GT) that were very informative. I ate up everything I could read or watch. I personally thing it has given me a advantage on my first days out.

I did try an Ace 250 and a BH Tracker IV for an hour or two from a friend before my purchase. I was super excited to get the F44 from Big Boy Hobbies (who were super and fast). The assembly was easy and I had it up and running in no time. I fired it up at my Apt. playground. Two AA batteries is all it took. The hobby store sent a set of headphone and a digger as part of the kit.

I used the Ground Grab feature, turned sown the sensitivity a little (11). I set it to Jewelry mode so I could hear a bit more than just coins. If found a few pennies and a couple of pull tabs. It was exciting. My next target was a park (I got a permit for my city…it was free) and found a ton of junk. I really wanted to hear as much as I could. I choose artifact mode, which only knocked out Iron. I still found plenty of Nails and odd shaped pieces of iron. I dug everything. I found a few coins, but I am starting to hear the difference between some pull tabs and coins. I still digging everything to confirm my thoughts.