Newbie needs some advice,tips.

yak138

Apr 15, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Just joined and looking for advice on beech detecting. Later this summer I'm planning a trip to North Carolina (Outer Banks). I use a dfx & have 3 coils 300mm, DD2, & 950. I've never detected on a beech and am looking for any tips, things I should do, things I should not do, from those of you who know. Thanks.

Upvote 0

lorraine

Silver Member
Dec 15, 2010
Detector(s) used
Minelab GT; Sov Elite
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Hi yak138,

I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I can tell you that the majority of my treasure finds are on the wet slope sand area , and along the water's edge at low tide.

I also get lucky way out on the "muddy flats" at low tide.

Also shallow troughs are often generous to me.

Sometimes the dry sand will give up treasures to me.

I wish you the best of detecting!

Have fun!

Lorraine

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
add link

I am one of the ones that can help you out but there is to much to type here,:icon_thumleft: so i suggest you read The Golden Olde
Norm was the master that I learned from years ago.:icon_thumleft: Copy the link or Bookmark it...

Last edited:

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting