Staff member
Jan 6, 2006
SE Louisiana
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Ace 250 & Ace 400
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been knowing about this "find" for several months, just hearing it with the tones of the MD nearly blew my eardrums. The area was about 3'x6', located just behind the farm house (built in the 1880's), the exact location is next to the septic tank and there are pipes running under the ground, so I was hesitant to try digging. Yesterday, my hubby gave me permission to dig, so I started just to see what was there. Curiosity killing not just me but several others too, we all dug with shovels, using the smaller diggers, we were finding square head nails, broken pottery. Trying to figure out what this big metal thing was, pulling back one sheet of metal I found a "metal plate", so I pulled it off and started cleaning. The plate is copper with the wordings "Carbide Pit Generator; Carbide Capacity 250 Pounds; Lighting Capacity 1/4 Ft Currents; In Correspondence Refer To Model "S" Serial NO 175868; J.B. Colt Company; ___ E. 42nd Street New York, NY" I tried doing some research and found an ad with the exact dimensions of this generator in the For Sale ads. I want to see what this thing is supposed to look like, so I'm not having much luck on researching. I understand that this was the way to light the homes back in the early 1900's.

We folded the metal back down to keep animals & children from falling in, we will try and continue today as time permits. Husband does not want to dig out with the backhoe, due to possible damaging pipes & such surrounding the area. I will try & get pics, but it is just a nasty looking hole in the ground besides that, I maintain the yard and I don't like messes. But, curiosity is killing me. ::)

;) RR

Attachments

• generator (2).jpg
    generator (2).jpg
    39.3 KB · Views: 930
Upvote 0
Re: Nothing Spectacular