Should I move locations or keep trying on this one

Astrobouncer

Jun 21, 2009
Hello all. I am quite new to prospecting. I live in the upstate of South Carolina (Blue Ridge) near the mtns, and gold was once found here back in 1908 and again in 1966 or so.

I just built my own sluice, a copy of the one here: ( http://forum.treasurenet.com/index.php/topic,176317.0.html ) and I spent about 3 hours yesterday on the stream near my house (with the permission of the owner of the land). The sluice caught a whole lot of black sand, but when I panned it down I couldnt see any gold. I still have a small amount of regular sand in the black sand because its hard for me to pan that last little bit out. The rocks in this stream seem to be lots of sedimentary rock, and there is definitely some kind of mica vein because I am getting some larger mica ore pieces and mica chips are visible encased in a lot of the different rocks in this river. I will get some pictures of the stream and post them up here. There is no less than 3 (old) gold mines within about 2 miles of my house here, 2 of which are off this same stream, downstream from me. I cant go to the gold mines because they are private property and have been unable to find the owners. The stream comes up from an old spring.

Should I keep trying on this piece of stream or should I move locations?

{Edit: Heres some pictures of the stream}

Upvote 0

Mr. Slate

Tenderfoot
Oct 23, 2008
Can you locate any visible bedrock, either already exposed or by digging a test hole in a likely area near the stream? The gold will be sitting on the bedrock or any false bedrock. Is there any public access downstream from the old mines? You may want to try there. I once visited a GPAA claim that looked great, but gave up only pyrite.

OP
OP
Astrobouncer

Astrobouncer

Jun 21, 2009