So new, Im still researching which detector Im going to buy

fanninm59

Greenie
Jan 31, 2016
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Detector(s) used
1. Harbor Freight 9 function. 2. Garrett AT Pro.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
So new, I'm still researching which detector I'm going to buy

Hello. I'm retired air force enlisted living in Peyton, Colorado. Still researching which detector to buy; VLF or pulse induction. I'm interested in coins, jewelry, relics, and gold (just like everyone in the hobby I guess). I'm considering Tesoro Vaquero, Tesoro Sand Shark, and Nokta FORS Core pro. Also looking at White's brand. I hear that VLF might miss gold where IP will detect on gold. Still researching and would like learn more about the pros and cons of VLF versus pulse induction. My budget is under $1,000. I would like to search on land and shallow freshwater creeks where I can wade up to my knees, no deeper. In the air force I was an electronics technician, so I'm familiar with circuits, power, radio waves, electronic jargon etc. As a result I like what I read about Tesoro being focused on quality electronics instead of pretty displays. When winter is over here at 7,000 feet near the Rockies, I hope to have decided and purchased a new detector and get out there. Thanks for taking time to read this and I look forward to learning from everyone.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Look into my eyes... Tesoro Vaquero with 11" x 8" Widescan coil... :occasion14:

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
metal_detector.gif