Sep 21, 2010
gloucester
Detector(s) used
tesoro and lazers
lynberg stamp (Small).jpg

FC-Treasure

Sep 9, 2011
Northern VA
The bi-plane stamp is in the scott stamp catalogue, it is a dominican republic "special delivery" stamp from 1920, the catalog number is E1.
The red stamp is a dominican republic regular issue from the 1920's. There are a few different versions, so I'm not sure which one it is.
Both of these stamps seem authentic, but I'm not an expert. Their value is only a few dollars US.

The real value is in the "cover" and the cancellations. I don't collect flight covers, but there are many people who do. I've sold some first flight covers before on eBay and they brought in a fair amount of money.

Perhaps you were asking about the cancellations instead of the actual stamps? It appears that there are some blue cancel's of this cover on eBay, are your cancels done in black ink? There should be a catalog of flight covers that you can reference. There are a ton of fakes for sale on eBay, so, no telling. Your's might be the authentic one, or perhaps the person doing the covers swapped ink at some point. (unlikely???)
1928 Dominican Republic First Flight Cover to Cuba Lindberg Special | eBay

It would be pretty easy for someone to take a $3 worth of stamps, but them on an old envelope, stamp them, then sell it for $70+

OP
OP
noble

noble

Sep 21, 2010
gloucester
Detector(s) used
tesoro and lazers
the ink on my letter is black actually its in a big frame with a picture of lynberg with the plane and when you compare the one in the link you sent mine goes through the name in the address the one in the link is above the address and is blue ink as i said its in a frame so i cant see the back of the envelope DEREK

Mackaydon

Gold Member
Oct 26, 2004
N. San Diego Pic of my 2 best 'finds'; son & g/son
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks