Thank you!

OldTractorHag

Apr 27, 2021
Shasta County, Far Northern California
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello! I am so excited to be included in your membership! I consider myself to be a complete newcomer to prospecting, because, although I have been hunting for beautiful and precious things for about 7 years, I am completely self taught, and have had no one to tell me if I am doing any of it correctly. I have collected so many amazing rocks! I have my suspicions about what many of them may be, but no way to confirm these notions. I post photos to FB groups, and that sort of thing. But, I do not think that, even if I had a decent camera, and the skill to use it, (I have neither) it would be possible to reliably identify my specimens from photos. I believe this largely because I study photos of rocks and minerals constantly! Yet, still I am unable to compare those images with actual specimens, and identify them. I hope, one day, to compare notes, and examine various samples, with an actual, knowledgeable, human! My trouble is that, I live in rural northern CA, and do not drive. Though I have sometimes invited rockhounds and prospectors to visit the property where I live (a fairly large ranch, that was once a river bed) to collect rocks, and peruse my collection, I always feel like a weirdo, asking them to come see my etchings, lol! I guess the rockhounds get that image, too, because no one ever takes me up on it. But, this group seems more focused, and serious. I have high hopes that, by reading your posts and replies, and asking lots of questions, I may yet become more confident in my assessments of the things I find. One thing I have noticed about rock and mineral folks online, is that they seem prepared to do anything rather than tell a person what they know that person hopes to hear about their discoveries. For instance, I have almost never seen someone declare that a fellow prospector seems to have found an excellent chunk of gold ore, no matter how many c