the non "mickey mouse" look. non nerdy headphone solution

re-tek

Jul 15, 2007
miami fl
Detector(s) used
coinstrike, tigershark, ace250, OLD radioshack
the non "mickey mouse" look. non nerdy headphone solution

living in a big city (read as CRIME), i never used headphones with my detectors. its unsafe and in my opinion makes you look like an even bigger nerd. having read all about the benefits of using headphones i decided to come up with a compromise that i figured i'd share with you guys.

i'm a ham radio operator. sometimes we want to hear the audio on our portable radios without bothering the rest of the world and without compromising our safety by completely shutting out the outside world.

my solution was something like this..
http://www.icomuk.co.uk/categoryRender.asp?categoryID=3509&cCID=5135&tID=461

and a 1/4" radioshack headphone adapter.

now i can hear even the slightest little bip, i dont look like a fat mickey mouse with a metal detector and dont have to worry about someone sneaking up on me because i can hear squat.

dont want to spend the bucks on a commercially made earpeice? use a cheapo stereo earbud headphone set, find which of the two earbuds works when its plugged into your detector, and hack off the non working one.

all really think this is the way to go. even you guys that hunt in "safe" places. running around with both your ears covered is not a great idea.

Rob66

Bronze Member
Jun 30, 2006
California
Detector(s) used
Whites new coinmaster-Teso Silver Max-Minelab GT
Re: the non "mickey mouse" look. non nerdy headphone solution

I know what you mean. I don't know if you can find them any more, but I purchased a vintage hand radio from e-bay and it had one of those single ear piece with it worked great because it fits snug in your ear and you can still head around you..

Montana Jim

Gold Member
Sep 18, 2006
Montana

Worried about looking nerdy? I already have a metal detector! The headphones can't be any worse... LMAO

Murph

Jul 19, 2004