Trade token found in Wa. State cedar shingle mill! Rare?!

highnam

Bronze Member
Jan 23, 2012
Western Washington
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been hunting a 1900-1920 Cedar Shingle Mill for a couple years, I haven’t had any great finds lately and today that changed. I found my first trade token at this site. I took it home dirty knowing it was aluminum and nothing else. With 30 mins of carefully cleaning it I confirmed it was a 9A16C587-C4EA-4995-8D1B-95F14477E6DC.jpeg “good for 10cents in trade” token!
letter by letter the other side started to reveal itself, I saw the town and recognized it as a old lumber town on the SW Wash coast, “Hoquiam, Wash”
66D47B8B-1EE4-4ACF-9334-9FA0CA9DDC2C.jpeg
I started cleaning and the name of the establishment Is “The Elk Bar” ...I think it says “Bar” but two holes were drilled to make the token a button? 569BCBFB-2CB4-4605-9C59-B0F34F342B43.jpeg
I haven’t seen a match to this token or any reference to “The Elk Bar” in my research, but I’m hoping guys like Idaho Tokens can step in and lend a hand. Hoquiam is about 5 hours South of here and I can imagine a man leaving a shingle mill job in Hoquiam for a shingle mill job here 100 years ago. 9673C8BB-214D-4156-874B-B6C24E0E7573.jpeg
I would be grateful for any help on this token.

Upvote 21
OP
OP
highnam

highnam

Bronze Member
Jan 23, 2012
Western Washington
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Wow, super cool Highnam! I never find old trade tokens. Good luck with the research!!
Thank you. Just finding a coin in these old logging sites is tough, finding a trade token is even tougher, I sure hope I can catch a break and find some reference. We Washingtonians have to work hard for a good find

Chimacum87

May 27, 2012
From WA now missing Scotland
Detector(s) used
Deus lite
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting