Unusual Question from Buyer

cagclub33

Greenie
Nov 14, 2014
Primary Interest:
Other
I've been selling on eBay for a few years now, but just received an unusual message from one of my buyers. It seems that when he went to the post office to pick up his item (the tracking information shows "Notice Left - No Secure Location Found") he was charged an additional $10+ to pick the item up. The shipment went to Virginia and the item in question only weighed about 1 pound, so I'm just not sure where this additional $10 fee came from.

I don't really understand how this could happen. I print the shipping labels at home through eBay and then have my local post office double-check that I have the correct weight before shipping items out. Has anyone had an experience like this or have any advice who I contact (eBay, post office, etc.) to check on why this happened? I've never run across this particular situation and wondered if any of you might have.

Thanks in advance for any assistance!

Never heard of anything like that. You used USPS right? I've had some that said "Notice Left", but they just go and pick it up anytime for free at PO. I'd contact your local post office and see if they've heard of it. It shouldn't matter where its delivered to. They get their money for delivery and they have to return to the PO at the end of the day. Shouldn't be any extra charges.

Edit: only thing I can think of is possible "Postage Due" and charged him the remainder, but with it being around 1lb doesn't seem likely

Have him email a scan of the receipt. If it's legit pay him the $10 bucks & move on. Life's too short to stress over $10.