What are these rocks?

Medicinemanj

Greenie
Dec 15, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So unless it worked the first 4 times I tried, this is my first post on here. I’m not good with geology, but I’ve found a lot of Native American artifacts. These two were found in close proximity. You may not can tell, but the rock in the first four pics has been flaked (given the high impact ripples) and also ground several places...mainly around the edges. You may can see the shiny areas. It feels heavy for its size. The second rock has layers chipped off on one corner (possibly by accident) and seems to have ground down to form this triangular shape. Hopefully this gets posted successfully. I watched a tutorial but any additional advice will be appreciated. I’ll have a lot more to come in the future if all goes smooth 79EC26A1-1DEE-4009-ADB3-62821B3F64A5.jpeg538297D6-B6B9-4862-894C-208E671011C1.jpeg9ADFF0F8-3262-4C00-BF9C-F8CEB9ADEB3A.jpeg5F10FAD7-A41A-4E9F-87F7-ED4B54C52A3A.jpegBA7B1A43-A6DF-4DC7-9DD9-CE469ADC1787.jpeg4FB2BE2F-0BE3-4B07-86A1-C03E1931A375.jpeg45054974-82C3-4FF4-885D-3C615F6A3D07.jpegF16F7FD4-2C03-47AC-9F08-577DDB78D581.jpeg

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 83
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 86
It's a big world ... covered in rocks.
Were you standing anywhere near Texas or Louisiana when you found that larger piece ?

Upvote 0
But, given that they have been worked, say hundreds possibly thousands of years ago, they may have originated elsewhere...theoretically

Upvote 0
Pretty sure you have a piece of petrified palm wood.
The Indians in your area were very familiar with it, it's a very useful material for making tools.

Edit to add: I'm not seeing any sign of either stone being worked in these pictures.
If that is palm wood, it is showing a multi million year old patina (crust) with a tiny chip which exposes the interior as that beautiful, speckled, glossy material.

Last edited:
Upvote 0