What is the best way to go about digging an old house site?

CoilyGirl

Gold Member
Nov 8, 2012
Nashville
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab x-Terra 505
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
The house has been torn down,sidewalks are left(so obviously I would look on either side) but any other areas I should concentrate on? It's hard to tell exactly where the footprints of the house were and there is a lot of junk around a concrete foundation block. How can I get by without digging a billion nails and get to the good stuff?

Old Dude

Gold Member
Feb 20, 2013
Luzerne County, Pa
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, Garrett ATPro, Garrett GTAx 500
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am no expert, but the sidewalk gives you a starting and stopping point. I assume you can tell where it starts? Does a road or driveway still exist? The other ends at an entrance to the house. You'd just have to spread out from there. If it is a modern poured concrete sidewalk, I'd bet there are footers maybe just under the ground. If you find them you have the lay of the house. Good luck, CG. I want to see your finds:icon_thumright:

BigWaveDave

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2013
Mountain Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Max, Minelab
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
If the house is torn down, chances are good that there would be less trash in what would be the back yard, dragging out the debris through front of property more likely... Also prolly used to have a clothesline in the back yard.. any traces of a driveway?

Old Dude

Gold Member
Feb 20, 2013
Luzerne County, Pa
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, Garrett ATPro, Garrett GTAx 500
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Also, if you find traces of burned trash, you've probably found the back of the back yard. Most old sites burned the garbage in the same spot for years.

NJcigarman

May 25, 2013
Southern New Jersey
Detector(s) used