What to Carry in the Field and Other Thoughts

• Thread starter Deleted member 103125
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 103125

Being a Dumb Noob, I have lots of questions that many would find fatuous. So, bear with me please ! There are metal Detecting APPS for my MOTOROLA MotoZ; are they any good ? When going out for a day of Detecting what should a person carry in their kit ? OK, I pack food, water, mud boots [ WELLIES in the UK ], waterproof gloves, flashlight, a GPS, and FRS walkie-talkies to keep in touch with nearby fellow Diggers. Might also start bringing along a blunt-end SCUBA pry-bar/knife, soil moisture/pH meter, PINPOINTER, DIGI-VID CAM, some PARACORD 550, waterproof note/log book, mallet/hand axe, section of straightened coat hanger marked with probe depth, and a basic tool kit. Have been considering a big-wheeled travel cart to carry most of the above when I trek a bit away from the car. An old arthritic coot, I might also start bringing a gripper "claw", cane, folding chair, lighted digital hand magnifier and GEIGER COUNTER. Would a noodle strainer/ sifter be useful ? Speaking of canes, my Wizard's Walking Staff is almost done. It will be sporting a somewhat rusty nut socket on its' "business end", while the other end will probably bear a high-strength NEODYMIUM RARE EARTH MAGNET for attracting ferrous materials. Cheap source for magnets is the KLYSTRON TUBE in a wrecked microwave oven. Should I carry Nylon, Brass, and Steel Bristled Brushes ?
Any other suggestions ? What might you think of melding DETECTING with GEOCACHING ( https://www.geocaching.com ) ? For die-hard treasure seekers, an interesting high-tech tools might be a "DORY" from https://www.chasing.com, and even a QUADCOPTER DRONE . If a "TEAM" rotating responsibilities went Detecting, one person could handle the Detector while others concentrate on running the accessories. THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ MY MULTIFARIUS and MIRTHFUL MUSINGS 8-)

crashbandicoot

Gold Member