What's the best way to find old sites to metal detect I'm new to the hobby

eman1000

Feb 24, 2016
Elizabethtown, IN
Detector(s) used
XP Deus ORX, Etrac, F75, Simplex, MX5, V3i, Equinox, Tesoro Vaq, F22
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Depends on where you live but find an old map from the time period and match it up to today (google earth) - Look for markers that haven't changed much and look at your local gis for landowners and ask permission. - That's the basics in a nutshell.

Research old newspapers helps as well. PM me a location and for fun I'll see what I can dig up. HH and goodluck

ArfieBoy

Silver Member
Aug 11, 2011
N.E. Oregon
Detector(s) used
Compass X-70, Compass X-80, Compass X-90, Compass Judge 2, Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Contact your local historical society, visit your local/college libraries, visit old-timers, read back issues of local newspapers as eman said.

Tahts-a-dats-ago

Apr 30, 2014
NJ
Detector(s) used
Legend,
Anfibio multi,
Apex,
ORX,
Deus,
Vanquish 440
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Old maps, old photographs, old newspaper articles, etc..

Some of which can be found online (historic aerials is just one website but there are others). Visit your local library and go through their old newspaper collection. Some areas have historical societies and some of those have maps/stories that are available.

I've found that talking to older people (who lived in the area their entire lives) can lead to some very good prospects - old swimming holes, speakeasies, etc... Stuff that isn't likely to be on a map or mentioned in the local newspapers.

Find the old ball fields, the old hangouts where people congregated. The old-timers remember such things and they (generally) like talking about the past.