swVa

Feb 16, 2015
Christiansburg Va.
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT pro
Radio Shack Discovery 1000
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am new to metal detecting and getting hooked more and more every time I go. I have an old Radio Shack Discovery 1000 model #63-3011. If any one is familiar with my machine I have a couple questions! About how deep will it detect for objects like a coin; how will it do on the beach for vacation time coming. I have got the discrimination adjusted and learning the tones. I have found a couple coins next to my drive way and lots of foil wrappers/cans. So I just question what could I be missing? I would like a new machine like an Ace 250 or a AT pro if I found one cheep. Just have to bring myself to come off the money!

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
metal_detector.gif
While you are waiting for a response- don't know if you are interested but found a manual for your puppy on: RadioShack Discovery 1000 with Dual-tone Discrimination System 630-3011

DiggerinVA

Bronze Member
Sep 16, 2013
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Detector(s) used
GPX5000, AT Gold, AT Pro, Whites TDI, Bandido 2 umax, Tejon, Vaquero, Deus 2, ORX and Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Steer clear of the ace machines or you will be right back here in 6 months....you will out grow one of those pretty quick.

BigWaveDave

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2013
Mountain Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Max, Minelab
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Steer clear of the ace machines or you will be right back here in 6 months....you will out grow one of those pretty quick.

OR... You will be very happy with an Ace 350, such as thousands are, including myself. Don't listen to anyone who has it in for any brand. Do your own research, go with what fits your budget, and which machine will fit your detecting goals.

DiggerinVA

Bronze Member
Sep 16, 2013