xlt sprectrum ?

Rutnbuck

Jun 26, 2005
No. Utah
Detector(s) used
whites xlt, Goldbug2,
I have been using my spectrum xlt for a couple years now and go out quite often, Parks, and Beach, I have found a ton of coin and jewelry and a few I could call treasures. I mostly use the programs on the unit. I have tried several adjustments however I am yet to find anything deeper then a few inches and or gold rings or any gold. The one beach I hunt I have found all types of silver nothing deeper then 3 inches. I know there is gold here. I run into a guy one day who had lost his gold band wedding he had bought a cheap model and he had a general area where he lost it the day before but I will be darned if we could find it. My question would be ? Why I have a standard 9 inch coil , would I be better off going with different coil? different MD or dose some one have a program setup? I buried a dime at 4 inches and I will be darned if any of the programs would pick it up. In fact for me to relocate it I had to remove about 2 inches of cover. I am thinking a MXT what is your thoughts

sniffer

Gold Member
Dec 31, 2006
Kansas
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS
first you have to realize that gold rings up as junk or foil. as far as going deeper, read the manual and check with others in your area about what settings they use.
good luck and let us know what happens

Coin Digger

Jul 13, 2008
Williams County Ohio
Detector(s) used
Whites Classic 3 SL
Fisher F2
Bounty Hunter Platinum
Whites XLT
Nokta Legend
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
You own an excellent machine it should be doing better.
I would call Whites and talk with one of their tec heads, your machine may need tuned up.

underdogger

Sep 24, 2009
Syracuse n.y
Detector(s) used
Whites / Prism II/Prism IV/V3i /Surf master II