fine gold on the beach

Jreiber

Dec 17, 2012
I am new to gold panning. My oldest boy started showing interest in the history of our area (oregon coast) and from there we got in to lookin for gold. Bought a couple pans to begin with and headed to our local beach and found a creek. Almost every pan has showed color buts its so small and hard to remove. So my question is... what is the best was to get the gold seperated from the black sand when the gold is so small? Ive read up on miller tables and though bout tyin it... all the help we can get is appreciated.

ForumRunner_20121217_064431.png

ForumRunner_20121217_064459.png

Upvote 0

walldo

Jun 18, 2012
Washington state
Detector(s) used
Mine lab x terra 305
I had the same problem. The local GPAA club outing everybody was using a Gold cube and a blue bowl for clean up.
I bought a four stack gold cube and have had very good luck .

OP
OP
Jreiber

Jreiber

Dec 17, 2012
Ok i will look into a gold cube... why a blue pan though? Like i mentioned were new at this and had our first experience this weekend so its all listening and learning from here.

calisdad

Bronze Member
Sep 8, 2010
Groveland, CA
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You reminded me of the very first time I went panning. It was on a beach in California. We uses battery hydrometers, much like turkey basters to suck it up out of the little streamlets.

You can make a blue bowl or small recirculating sluice quite cheaply. Get a 12 volt bilge pump, a section of eave gutter and some ribbed matting and you're good to go. With the blue bowl you just need a large plastic bowl a funnel and hose fitting and a hot glue gun. Youtube has several videos. Have fun.

OP
OP
Jreiber

Jreiber

Dec 17, 2012
Cool thanks for the info. Ill have to look into the blue bowls too.

NeoTokyo

Bronze Member
Aug 27, 2012
Redding
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Eyes - Nokta FORS Gold - Fisher Gold Bug II
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
+1 to the Gold Cube