Hi From San Diego, CA

arehm

Mar 3, 2012
San Diego, CA
Detector(s) used
Garrett Treasure Ace 300, Garrett Scorpion Gold Stinger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone, Andy here residing in San Diego, CA just dropping by to introduce. I'm a newbie at metal detectoring and after doing a lot of research I decided to go with Garrett. I finally bought a Garrett Scorpion Gold Stinger on ebay used for $315 came with a 5x8 Crossfire search coil. I watched a few videos on YouTube about how to bench test and ground balance the machine. The bench testing went well and the machine seems to work fine. I dug and placed 4 coins in the back yard 3-6" inches deep. The ground test did not fair too well in Motion Disc Mode and could only detect about 3-4" down, all metal mode detects deeper down deep to 6-8". Anyone know about the 12.5" coil that is available for the Scorpion Gold Stinger? Thanks

River Rat

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2006
SE Louisiana
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Ace 250 & Ace 400
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
MG_127.gif
arehm

4342564 (2).jpg

Attachments

• 4342564 (2).jpg
    4342564 (2).jpg
    38.3 KB · Views: 144

G.A.P.metal

Gold Member
Jul 5, 2010
"Kan-a-we-o-la" Head on a Pole N.Y. Seneca Territo
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus, 11" Low Freq. , 9" X35 Coils, MI 6 Pointer...
Land or Sea Pointer
King Of Spades 40" KS-D SA and 40" KS-S-SA
L
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Hi Andy
And welcome to TreasureNet i think you will just love it here.
As for the Garrett i used to sell them in the 90s so i do use one some times but mine is maybe 1997 so older teck.
So i`d go the the Garrett Forum and ask about the depth of that Gold stinger.But to have the detector (Ground Balanced) is very important and the soil at your local area.
Some times just digging a hole and puttin in some coins and testing it dosen`t work at first ,But do burry some coins Q D N penny and make then with Red Golf TEES Plastic tees