New need MD help!

wolfmanusf

May 27, 2008
I am new to metal detecting and have gone out for a few weeks and have disappointed with my finds. I realize that it will take time. However today I went out to do a little experimenting. I own a BH Tracker IV and I cut a plug and buried a silver coin that I had at about 4-4.5 inches and put the disc. and sensitivity at reasonable levels...Nothing... I played with different sensitivities and different discriminations still nothing. Finally I put it on all metal mode and it rang in clear as a bell. Why won't it find the silver. It finds clad just fine. Am i doing something wrong? Will I just have to dig everything? Any help would be appreciated.

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I forget if the Tracker IV has ground balancing. You could have had it set wrong but I doubt it. Mostly newly buried coins aren't detectable with Bounty Hunters and some others even at 4 inches. It should find silver real well as it is more conductive than clad. I suspect there might me something wrong here. How are air tests in sounding off on targets. Have you turned down disc. all the way and had sens. at only half way?

try posting this same question on the Bounty Hunter site.

rcasi44

Jul 24, 2006
NE Illinois
I agree with Sandman about newly buried coins. All my detectors will find coins deeper in the all metal mode so that part is normal. You didn't say that you buried the same size clad coin at 4 or 4.5 inches. Rob

Jim Hemmingway

Jan 26, 2008
Canada
Detector(s) used
F-75, Infinium LS, MXT, GoldBug2, TDI Pro, 1280X Aquanaut, Garrett ProPointer
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hi Wolfmanusf,