Pepperbox frame and other goodies!

Ironman!

Mar 25, 2009
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
MXT/Gold Bug Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I decided to go out and hunt for 8 hrs. befoe I went to work for my 12 hr. night shift. I'm glad I did!

As I was driving up to the area I hunt I was looking at the vast region that I have been hunting on for many years. There was one open area that I have never swung a coil over so I decided to scout out that area. Well, about half way through the day I finally wandered onto a site and this was what I eyeballed about 10 feet away!
E-mailIMG_0736.jpg

Nice....a Pepperbox frame!
E-mailIMG_0737.jpg

Side view with some fancy engraving and a word I can't quite make out!
E-mailIMG_0752.jpg

Top of hammer
E-mailIMG_0753-1.jpg

Side of hammer
E-mailIMG_0754.jpg

Bottom of grip
E-mailIMG_0755.jpg

Other goodies! Note the round tag that says IRON WIRE No 12. Does anyone know what the round iron piece next to it is?
IMG_0757.jpg

I also found a brass butt plate for a .44 caliber Henry rifle SN# 13014 and my first gun tool!
E-mailIMG_0749.jpg

My hunts wouldn't be complete without some iron. I found my second ice creeper in two months, this one bigger than the one I found last month! I love that iron!
IMG_0758.jpg

Upon further investigation I have found that the Pepperbox is an English Bar Hammer Pepperbox Pistol! Here is a link to an 1850 English Bar Hammer that is so very close to mine, even the engraving! http://www.historicalarmsandarmor.com/firearms.html (scroll down to the 8th pic.)

Thanks for looking! Now I'm out the door to see if I can find the barrel to the Pepperbox!!

Ironman

Upvote 0

johnnyi

Bronze Member
Jul 4, 2009
new jersey
Detector(s) used
minelab, white's xlt, deus xp, fisher aquanaut, white's twin box
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting