Whats a good Detectors to get ???

Martin R.

Tenderfoot
Feb 3, 2005
Hi everyone
I'm new to the world of gold hunting ..and would like to know so honest opinions about what are some good detectors to buy ...since there are so many out there these days what is a good one to get ??? has anyone got one of these and let me know if they had any luck finding gold with them TREASURE HUNTER 3030 or the Garrett Ace 250 are these good units to start with ???? any help would be great full ...

thanks Martin

Upvote 0
W

wepc

Price range $1,000 and over the newer Minelab Gold Detectors SD2100 and up.
Price range $300 Used Minelabs starting at the XT18000 and other models above the 18000
Fisher Gold Bug 2, used $450. New $650
Whites MXT used $500, new $650

So I would buy Minelab or a Fisher Gold Bug 2. Minelab makes quite a few models from the XT 1800 all the way to the GP3000 that are good machines. The higher the model number, the higher the price.
Fisher Gold Bug 2 has probably found more gold nuggets than any other detector around.
Whites MXT is a dual machine used for treasure hunting and gold detecting. I do not believe it would be as sensitive as the Minelab or Fisher gold machines.
Whites also makes a line of Gold Detectors that are pretty sensitive. It's all about what you want to spend. Look into used Minelab gold detectors on Ebay and Treasure Hunting forums. Ebay also has Gold Bug 2's on there quite a bit.

OP
OP
M

Martin R.

Tenderfoot
Feb 3, 2005
Thanks for that
what about this One ...Minelab FT1600 were they any good ??? I can get one that has done hardley any work at all
thanks M.

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm a GB2 and tesoro Lobo ST fan for many years.I can afford whatever I want and for many reasons I'm a happy miner.There are many good machines out and used but not abused are usually great bargains as nugget hunting is the absolute hardest form of detecting their is!!!Tons a au 2 u 2-John

W