Celtic Gold De Ja Veau

Limey-digger

Jan 17, 2015
Roamin with the Romans
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Celtic Gold Deja vu

Hi Tnet'ers.
Got out this week for session on back up pasture permission of mine. None of my arable land is available at this time of year so it was a return visit to this site. That I have spent many hours detecting in the past. The grass was long in places and quite difficult to get the coil close the ground and swing the detector. Not put off as I was just happy to be out doing what I enjoy. The signals were sparse as I have pulled out a lot of coins and relics previously from this site in the past and it has not been ploughed since I have been detecting it for three years.
I did manage to find a small Georgian period cuff button before I hit a faint signal that I could just about get to repeat from a few directions so I proceeded to dig a plug and turned it over, I waved the detector over the up turned soil clod and got a real crisp repeatable signal so I pulled out my pro pointer and began to kneel down but before my knees touched the ground I spotted the little glint of yellow metal peaking out of the earth and knew straight off what was lying there ready to be revealed. I have dug a Stater on this field in the past and the size shape of the edge that was showing could only be one thing another Stater :tongue3: I just knelt there and looked at the enclosed coin for a few seconds shocked that it had happened again and I had done this site to death. I carefully eased it out of the soil and was greeted by a beautiful Golden Pony.
I had obviously missed this coin in the past as it was almost perfectly on edge in the ground.
The coin is a full stater of the Atrebates tribe and dates to ca 45BC
thanks for looking and remember you can never be sure that a site has been completely emptied.
George .
PS the previous stater is pictured in my avatar.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 233
Last edited:
Upvote 8