Aug 17, 2013
Coastal Orange County, CA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATX, AT Pro, ProPointer, and a weirdly good sense of direction
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi All,

I'm new to metal detecting (6-weeks) and new to this fourm. I've always wanted to try MD, but I didn't know if I would like it, so I never invested in the equipment. Finally, I decided to give it a try, so 6-weeks ago I purchased a Harbor Freight 9-function detector to give it a shot. The detector was $40 out the door w/20% off coupon and I got a free flashlight with the other coupon. I told myself if I found enough coins and stuff to pay off the $40 detector, and if I liked detecting, that I would purchase a Garrett AT Pro. (by the way, that Harbor Freight 9-function detector kicks butt for $40 and works great in shallow saltwater)

Well, after three weeks and finding a big jar full of coins, a few stainless, brass & toy rings, and a lot of other weird stuff, I more then hit my $40 goal. So three weeks ago I purchased an AT PRO because I wanted a detector to get into the surf. The AT Pro had a very short learning curve, I love the Pro Zero Mode with 35 on the Iron. In the three weeks that I have had the AT Pro, I've found over twice as many coins and stuff as the Harbor Freight Detector with about 80% less digging.

Within 2.5 hours of detecting in Huntington Beach, CA, this morning in dry sand, I hit three goals!! Along with a hand full of coins and a set of keys, I found my FIRST..... (see pictures)

(Gold Ring) 14k White Gold Ring with about 40 Diamonds in it

(Silver Ring) 925 Silver Ring

(Silver Coin) 1943 Mercury Dime

This hobby is addicting!! I can't wait to go again. I saltwater fish with my Shimano & Loomis about 150 days a year and Sand Fishing with my AT Pro is a lot like fishing. I LOVE IT!!