1802 One Cent Piece! Holy crap...now how do i clean it???

Scrappy

Gold Member
Mar 6, 2014
17th century
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030 & XP Deus
Primary Interest:
Other
I was giving up my hunt for the evening, and scanned on my way back and pow!

I'm new to coins hunting and metal detecting. I know better than to clean it with anything harsh (my grandfather ruined early 1800 half dollars that way), but I'm so proud that I want it cleaned.

My earliest prior to this was a 1967 quarter so this blew my socks off. I danced around like a kid again;)

Attachments

• image-1994496587.jpg
    image-1994496587.jpg
    35.9 KB · Views: 347
Upvote 13

cti4sw

Bronze Member
Jul 2, 2012
Pennsylvania
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 600, Garrett AT Pro, Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Heat up a small amount of peroxide in the microwave for about 30 sec. Drop the coin in for about 30 sec per side, and dab dry. Repeat as necessary.

Actually, given the condition in which most coins are dug, they MUST be cleaned to have any numismatic value.

Vino

Banned
Jul 7, 2013
Pa.
Detector(s) used
Ctx3030. Xp deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Just like cti said...keep repeating until it stops fizzing....by the look of the coin your going to need alot of dips...In between brush with toothbrush. ..then place in olive oil..you will then see as much detail as u can...the longer u leave in the oil thw better it will get....sometimes 3 to 4 months....good luck...post pic after for us.....Great save by thw way...George

ATpro5

Jan 4, 2013
SW Virginia
Detector(s) used
Whites Coinmaster,At Pro,Minelab Etrac
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I Agree, Hot Peroxide Is A Good Method.

treblehunter

Gold Member
Jun 18, 2013
New Jersey
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excalibur II
XP Deus
Garrett pro pointer
XP Deus MI-6 pinpointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Ha, I love it, 1967 to 1802, sweet. Good work finding that old coin, nice save.