a newbies silly question

miamidave

Aug 23, 2008
hollywood
Detector(s) used
recon pro
Hi guys and gals Im totally new to this hobby I bought a CHEAP detector on ebay(should be here tomorrow)
made a sand scoop and will use an old trowel for digging and a14 inch stainless shish-k-bob skewer for a probe( dont want to spend alot till I see if I like it)
I have read alot of the posts on this site and a few others and am a bit confused about beach hunting. some folks post about wishing a good storm would hit and" bring stuff up" while others post that the storm ruined the beach. so are big storms good or bad for detecting( living in Miami I would like to find somthing positive about a storm) or is it just in the eye of the beholder?
I consider this a silly Question because I know that no matter what kind of answers I get Ill have to figure this out for myself
I just wanted some opinions before I get started
Thanks

Welcome to the hobby.
I could ruin it for the recently lost items but it could also make it better if it washes up some spanish gold from a deeply burried shipwreck.
I hope you got a machine that is good in the salt, not all are.
Good Luck.

You might want to use a brass or aluminum probe with a rounded end.
Get a strong magnet to catch those nails that fool you.
Old broken computer drives have very strong magnets.
Some folks here on the left coast use wooden pallets for bonfires
and yes they do lose things, but those darned nails spread out too.

I beach hunt when I can and if a storm comes along, I try to be there asap after it's gone.
Never know what the tide brought in until you look.
Yup, maybe it took away that diamond ring that was there (somewhere)
but it may have replaced it with gold dubloons! ;D

HH
Greydigger

My advice is: The most important factor in beach hunting is Location
Study the beaches in your area
You want the beaches that are the most crowded with people swimming, horseplaying, drinking etc
That's where you'll find the jewelry