Any Ex USAF who served in Thailand early 70s

Montana Jim

Gold Member
Sep 18, 2006
Montana
Re: Any Ex USAF who served in Thailand early 70's

My father in law wrenched on fighters in Khorat ...

I was an AF Cop for almost 25 years and am back into it training them as a silly-villian.

God bless you and thanks for paving the way!

Check out this site I found... it's just one of many mentioning your unit there...

http://www.geocities.com/wmiller685/utapao.html

rayc50

Apr 11, 2008
East Central Illinois

Hey, floodcitykid and Montana Elf! I served in the Air Force from April '69 to May 30, '75. I was assigned to Khorat AB, supposedly to the 388 Civil Engineers at Khorat Ab. I was a Staff Sergeant at the time and was supposed to be assigned as NCOIC of the Site Development Section there. (553X0) I had left the states about 2 weeks early from Travis to Hickam in Hawaii. Visited with some of my friends there for about 5 days and then on to Guam, then Clark AB in the Phillipines, where I had some buddies. Was there about a week and then on to Khorat on a C-130. After arriving at Khorat I found out that a Tech Sergeant from somewhere in Japan had filled my position. My orders hadn't caught up with me because I had left early. So here I was in Khorat with nothing but my PCS orders. No pay records, no info on where I was actually supposed to be, no nothing. I was put on 'casual' until they found out where I was supposed to be. After about 3 weeks, they eventually found out that I had been reassigned to Utapao as NCOIC of the Site Development Section with the 635 CES. Khorat wasn't bad, but Utapao was fantastic! Ever been to , I believe it was named Pataya Beach?? (excuse the spelling if I'm wrong) I met another ex-air force guy I worked with who had been stationed at Utapao. Lots of stories there! LOL Anyway, have a goodun'! Nice to meet you! Ray

DreamcatcherNC

Jul 22, 2008