Auction Mentality - Help Me Out Here

MentalUnrest

Nov 14, 2010
Went to a coin auction today and was left scratching my head as to what the coins were selling for. I am not an expert, but would consider myself very well informed of the prices of different grades of coins. The things I do not know, I have my computer to look up while at the auction. The prices today were staggering in how much people were paying. Peace and Morgans were going for $70-90 for non key dates in decent shape. Most were not graded, but even in MS shape, the ones I looked up on eBay were going for around $40-$50. The ones that were slabbed sold for DOUBLE what they were worth. One key date Morgan that was selling at $120-$145 on eBay at a MS 63 went for $340! I understand not all people want to deal with the internet but there are a few coin shops in the area where they could have gone and saved themselves quite a bit of money.

They had some proof Franklins that sold for $40-$55, and silver proof Ikes went for $35. I hardly ever buy coins at auction as from what I have seen, these prices are normal in my area. Heck, even a bag of 500 wheats (all 40s and 50s from what I could see) went for $47.50. On eBay, these 500 lots of wheats barely sell at all if people have them priced over $17.00 - Unless they are teens, 20s and 30s.

Anyone else attend coin auctions and if so, do the coins sell for more, less or about what they are worth?

Upvote 0