Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2
XP ORX

Garrett Carrot

XP MI6 Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all,
My 800 was sending me a few too many signals the other day with the 11” coil. I wiggled the cable near the coil and it would beep consistently when tweaked in one direction. I put on the small coil hoping it would stop, but it did it with that one as well.
I’ve only been at this since last August so I’m still learning. Is this normal, or do I have a problem? I noticed it was beeping a bit much in my swings, so that’s why I jiggled the cables.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

vferrari

Silver Member
Jul 19, 2015
Near Ground Zero for Insanity
Detector(s) used
XP Deus with HF/x35 Coils and Mi6 Pinpointer/ML Equinox 600/800/ML Tarsacci MDT 8000 GPX 4800/Garrett ATX/Fisher F75 DST/Tek G2+/Delta/Whites MXT/Nokta Simplex/Garrett Carrot
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Bottom line that should not normally be happening, but some situations can result in "microphonic" coil noise. Assuming you are not over tugging on the coil cable and based on the fact that you notice it while detecting, it appears something may not be right with your coil(s), how you have the cable routed, or with the detector. It also might be "normal" for the way you have the detector set up, especially since you are seeing it on 2 different coils (unlikely both have failed). Need more info though.

Settings? Does it do it on all modes? Are your GB settings showing high numbers (coil bump sensitivity tends to increase on Equinox if GB adjusts to a high number)? Coil cover cleaned inside of any sand/debris? How do you have your coil cable strain relief set, it should be tight enough to keep the cable stationary on swings but loose enough to allow you to adjust the coil angle. Coil Connector tight at the contro pod. Make a video and show us if you can, might also be useful if you have to end up contacting Minelab support.

Dirt Duke

Aug 26, 2018
Detector(s) used
ATPro