beginner in north east Connecticut..

whatheheck

Aug 24, 2012

Dr Freezelove

Aug 22, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
whatheheck said:
Hello all!! Just joined, and am very excited about being on here, and making likewise friends!!
I'm new to metal detecting, and I'm going out to purchase one this weekend, any good ideals?
Plus I'm doing an old bottle dump dig, sometime soon, near Pachuag State Forest..
I'll let you guys know what I find!
Cya!!!

I am from CT and I am getting ready to buy a MD in the next few weeks. Trying to figure out what to buy i will be looking for places to hunt as well. Maybe we can hit a spot or two.

Connecticut Sam

Bronze Member
Sep 28, 2007
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It is against state laws to dig in state forests and state parks unless it on public beaches, which make me outrage.

OP
OP
W

whatheheck

Aug 24, 2012
Hey Dr! Would like to go on a dig sometime with ya.. I'm new to this aswell..
And I thought state forest were ok to dig in, with a hand shovel.? I know Parks aren't allowed

Connecticut Sam

Bronze Member
Sep 28, 2007
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It is against Ct. laws to dig in any state forest and any state parks except beaches and you must turn any rings and watches found on beaches to the staff. For more information and regulations: Contact:
Thomas J. Tyler at [email protected]

Best of luck from Connecticut_Danny.

OP
OP
W

whatheheck

Aug 24, 2012
Thanks Danny for the heads up!! Didn't know that.. soo, like.. where can you actually dig?. Do those same rules apply to surface scanning?

Connecticut Sam

Bronze Member
Sep 28, 2007
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting