CRH: Clues and cues when searching for that "big find"

kontrapunktus1750

Apr 11, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other
I've been doing CRH rather obsessively since mid-2011. I have a rotation of banks that I visit en route to work daily and often modify my route to take me past as many banks as possible.

Early this year, I passed by a newly-opened branch that I hadn't considered previously due to its newness. Stopped in, checked my balances, and asked for my usual "old bills, half dollars, and "big" Eisenhower dollars." One of the tellers held up an older brown paper Brandt roll that looked like it had come straight out of the 1930s. I took it and repeated the request for halves. Someone else had taken them already.

Now I don't typically ask for quarters, but for whatever reason, I did this time. $50 worth. Teller came back from the vault with a newer type of CWR that is crimped on one end and folded on the other, so I could see some of the coins. All silver enders. The light bulb in my head flickered on and I asked for another $300 in quarters, apologetically. She came back with more, some in identical wrappers.

When I got back to the car, I saw that three more of the rolls had silver enders. I opened the eight obvious rolls. There were a few CuNi coins in a sea of silver--effectively solid rolls. The remaining rolls were overwhelmingly CuNi with some silver stragglers.

Later that evening, it occurred to me that I hadn't thought very quickly or thoroughly. A logical assumption would be to think that any quantity of silver quarters should be accompanied by a similarly large quantity of silver dimes. And so I made it out to the same branch the following morning. I cleaned them out of their remaining CWR coin (which was only about $350).

Perhaps it was mere coincidence and fortune, but five rolls of silver dimes later, I came to the following conclusions: