Deep square cut iron nails sound like deep silver. Solution?

Tony (Michigan)

May 17, 2017
Lapeer County, Michigan
Detector(s) used
Explorer, E-trac, Muskateer, Tesoro, Deus, White's, Detech, DMC IIb, and others
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hey gang,
I have an Explorer XS and SE. I live on an old farm that was originally settled around 1820.
The folks who bought the farm in 1920, tore down the old house and scavenged the wood beams etc. As you can
imagine, the nails they pulled out went in the yard.

My problem is my detector normally gives a low tone for iron and high tone for silver. But I get fooled by the
sound of these deep nails because they often, sometimes, sound like a deep silver coin.

Is there something you do to figure if it's iron without having to dig it up?

Thanks for any help. I've been detecting this farm for 20 years off and on and only found 2 Mercs and one Washington silver and some wheats.
There has to be old coins hiding under the nails.

sonofadigger

Bronze Member
Apr 22, 2012
SOMEWHERE
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
MINELAB E-TRAC MINELAB SAFARI TEKNETICS OMEGA 8000 GARRETT AT PRO GARRETT PRO POINTER VIBRA PROBE 580
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Unfortunately all detectors do this and in my experience the minelabs love deep iron nails...fools me everytime...usuallyif it's a repeatable signal I just dig it

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Ammoman

Bronze Member
Oct 12, 2015
NC
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Nokta Impact, Tesoro Compadre..
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I think it is for this reason most of us have more than one metal detector. I find my Tesoro beep and dig discriminates pretty darn well in areas like that.

SD51

Silver Member
Aug 24, 2016
MI
Detector(s) used
E-TRAC
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting