Ebay Help please.Gold escudo pendents.

giomustang

Tenderfoot
Jun 22, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to the whole Cob area of coin collecting.But I think there is a bunch of highly skilled and smart people on this site who could help me out.I recently was looking for a gold cob pendent and have come across two that are currently being offered on ebay.I have tried contacting both sellers for more info on the coins but have gotten very little info back:icon_scratch:.although I know there is a bunch of nice gold replicas out there,I was wondering if either of these two look authentic to anyone with experience in this field????The items are ending soon so any help would be greatly appreciated.Also what you guys believe would be a fair price would be great too.Thanks in advance,and God Bless!

Pendent #1
Spanish Gold Doubloon | eBay
This one is 1/4 oz or a little over 7 grams with bezel..(I asked how much bezel weighs,no reply yet)
Pendent #2
Spanish COB Two Escudos Gold Coin Doubloon 22K | eBay
This one is 6.8 grams ,but this seller has no idea if that weight includes bezel or not nor does he have a scale I was told?...(i asked)

OP
OP
G

giomustang

Tenderfoot
Jun 22, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

realeswatcher

Sep 1, 2010
You come to see with experience that a lot of bezel-mounted cobs are replicas... certainly not all, but a much higher proportion than what you see in "non-jewelry" form. It behooves the buyer to carefully scrutinize such pieces...

I'll also say that the gold escudos cast jewelry replicas you see tend to be "better" than the silver reales casts... Not sure if that's due to better techniques used since those are pricier pieces, or because of some metallurgical properties.