baddley

Jan 28, 2019
West Virginia
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi

I am new to metal detecting and this is my first detector, overall I am very satisfied with the quality and features of this machine. That being said I am having a bit trouble locating my targets. Before I have gone out every time I have ground balanced and done the noise cancellation to benefit me. My machine is using the default setting and I am digging in Park 1 mode for now with nothing changed. The last time I was out I dug 7 holes and only located found 1 item out of all of those holes. Towards the end I was only digging targets that has a VDI of 25 or above because I was getting frustrated. Once I find a target I want to to dig I go to the side of the target a 90 deg angle and make sure to sweep over it that way too. Once I located the right tone and highest VDI for it then pinpoint it with the Equinox and mark the spot in the ground were I think it is at. I have dug down to 18 inches and used my Garrret Carrot Pin Pointer all around the hole to try and locate the target and could not find it even though when I swept the coil back over it the Equinox still picked it up the same VDI number. A couple of times I have dug to the right or the left of the target a couple of inches and found the target about 4 inches down, the last one being a 1893 Merc Dime :D I don't mind digging holes and finding targets but coming up empty handed gets frustrating even if it is trash.

Does anybody have any tips or advice for me besides making a coin garden to practice on ?

Thanks for the help
Scott

saanich2018

Apr 25, 2018
Atlanta, GA
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to this also, and these are the video links I was sent. Maybe they will help you too

smokeythecat

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting