First hunt of the year wishlist came true! 1800s coinspill n more silver!

Tommybuckets

Bronze Member
Mar 2, 2015
Bodymore, Metalland
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal, Safari, Garrett infinium, Whites prizm 4
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I finally found some time to get out. I am an x-ray tech so this stoopid virus just means more work and longer hours for me. My friend is pretty new to detecting so he has these ideas of where to go. The problem is, they are the same ideas we all have. New detectorists pull out the map, find the documented spots and go there. I explained his spot looks great on paper. Union troops camped in the area during the Civil war, but it has most likely been picked clean after years of detecting. We jump out and I dig my first hole. Its an iffy 20, 25, 26 jumping around on the nox. Pinpointing it barely registers but is an oblong shape. I cut the plug deep and fold it back and on the top of the plug is a Barber dime! Yay. Not quite period but first hole of 2020, first silver. I rescan the hole and theres more,.. I poke around and out comes an Indian, then another Indian! Unfortunately I scraped one with the digger. This has been happening more than I would like all of a sudden especially with deep old coin spills. Hey at least I am digging them. He starts saying , "Y'know maybe we should try,.." and I hold up the coins.
" This is the spot." Then we get into some deep clad, trash etc. I find a possible rosette. We wander, take a break. I say " I want to find a Seated quarter, something I know was dropped by these troops."