First Thrift Store Pick - Silver(?) Hallmarks

Shakakka

May 11, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all!

Was in the thrift store with my wife and saw this tea-pourer thing had hallmarks on the bottom. Since I see you guys picking silver all the time, I figured I'd give it a shot and gamble $12.

Can anyone identify these hallmarks? Also, does this have the "look" of tarnished silver? Sorry to be a newbie, I'm still learning.

hallmarks.jpg

IMG_5466.jpg

IMG_5467.jpg

IMG_5468.jpg

IMG_5469.jpg

Thanks in advance!

pepperj

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2009
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus, Deus 2, Minelab 3030, E-Trac,
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting

Red-Coat

Gold Member
Dec 23, 2019
Surrey, UK
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Very nice purchase.
Here is a knowledge link that will determine the maker and date.

I'm afraid that link isn't going to help much. It's an attractive piece, but those are not British silver hallmarks. There's no mark in that set which corresponds to any of our town/city assay offices and a British hallmark must have that as a legal requirement.

It appears to be a pseudo hallmark for silver plate, complete with a 'faux' lion and I would be pretty sure it's an American piece. I don't immediately recognise the maker, but I'll have a think.

Red-Coat

Gold Member
Dec 23, 2019
Surrey, UK
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It looks like it's a cynical imitation of a Sheffield 1918 hallmark for which the city mark should be a crown (not that weird crown-like thing) and the lion's paw raised (but not sticking peculiarly up in the air). This would be a Sheffield mark, to which the maker mark would be added:

1918.jpg

Last edited:

pepperj

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2009
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus, Deus 2, Minelab 3030, E-Trac,
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting