Found a couple of war nickels

Evolution

Gold Member
Aug 2, 2007
Upstate NY
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX (with 4x6 shooter DD coil and 12" spider coil), Minelab Rocco 2700. (E-Trac)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I seem to have a problem finding war nickels in good condition. I've found 3 this year and they are all in terrible condition. Here are two of them. The one on the left looks like someone treid to punch a hole in it and did not succeed. The one on the right looks like it got hit by a lawnmower. Maybe I'll find a nice one sometime that I can actually put in an album.

Attachments

• IMG_0457.JPG
    IMG_0457.JPG
    62.5 KB · Views: 431
Upvote 0

muleskinner

Aug 8, 2007
West Michigan
Detector(s) used
minelab, tesoro
That one on the right has been shot. Kinda looks like it's been to war. Is a war nickel worth anything, forgive me but I'm kinda new to this stuff. Keep it up it's still more then I've found today.
Muleskinner

Prober

Bronze Member
Apr 11, 2007
West Michigan
Detector(s) used
White's M6, Bullseye II, Ace250
I'd put the one on the right into an album now, then if you do find a better one you can just switch it. Neat finds even tho a little shot up. :D

OP
OP
Evolution

Evolution

Gold Member
Aug 2, 2007
Upstate NY
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX (with 4x6 shooter DD coil and 12" spider coil), Minelab Rocco 2700. (E-Trac)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
muleskinner said:
That one on the right has been shot. Kinda looks like it's been to war. Is a war nickel worth anything, forgive me but I'm kinda new to this stuff. Keep it up it's still more then I've found today.
Muleskinner
They're certainly not worth much in this condition muleskinner. A good one might fetch a little more than a regular nickel of the same age. War nickels are named as such because they were in use from 1942-1945 (WWII) and were made with 40%? silver.

OP
OP
Evolution

Evolution

Gold Member
Aug 2, 2007
Upstate NY
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest: