Found Shiny Silver Rock/Metal

Hammer Stone

May 19, 2016
Deep Woods
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was taking the hoe to my little garden and found what appears to be Galena I think. It's a bit shinier and lighter weight than specimens I have handled before. Could that be to more silver content?

The largest piece weighs 6.6oz the next smallest 1.6oz and the smallest .5oz. The shotgun shell is 3in.

Found in very NW Ga Mtn area in small valley. There are a few creeks close by.

Opinions on what it is?

I am very new to all this :)

~ Hammer Stone

gelena.jpg gelena2.jpg

Eu_citzen

Gold Member
Sep 19, 2006
Sweden
Detector(s) used
White's V3, Minelab Explorer II & XP Deus.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
It has a slight resemblance of slag. (note - gas bubbles)
But the shine is unusually high.

Magnetic? Can a knife scratch it? Rubbed against unglazed porcelain, what colour do you get?

Upvote 0
OP
OP
Hammer Stone

Hammer Stone

May 19, 2016
Deep Woods
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks for the look.

It's not magnetic & it doesn't scratch with a sharp pocket knife. I don't have any unglazed porcelain so I couldn't check that out.

Upvote 0

IAMZIM

Bronze Member
Apr 23, 2011
Butte City, Montana
Detector(s) used
ace 250/garret pinpointer, garret AT Gold
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
"It's a bit shinier and lighter weight than specimens I have handled before." Not saying what it might be, because I'm not an expert of any kind, but all the chunks of galena I have are quite heavy for their size, as the silver and lead ore content they have makes them weighty.

Upvote 0

OldeToby

Jun 17, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting