Gravity D ing question about using flat hose, and Y junction...

kYLEMtnCRUZr

Greenie
Nov 24, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Does flat hose / fire hose work with Gravity D ing? I think it may limit pressure or not hold a vacuum as well? But if you syphoned it correctly and "inflated" it with enough water maybe? Are there any pros/cons besides cheaper, more portable etc.

And would this y junction work in the picture? I think it would. I want to work a middle section, but have the benefit of the head flow above.

photo_zps78c54acf.jpg

Thanks a lot! I'm new to GD because its time to go big, then go home and pass the blank out ;)

-Kyle

omnicron

Bronze Member
Jun 14, 2012
Caldwell, Idaho
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Lay flat hose wont work. It will collapse on it's self. Think of it as a balloon, pressure makes it expand and the absence of pressure (vacuum) will make it collapse.

Also from your drawing, I'm not sure if that will work, typically all I have seen is a section of hose that was primed with "gates" and one the last gate was released the hose had suction. The up stream end was used to suck up the gravels.

OP
OP
K

kYLEMtnCRUZr

Greenie
Nov 24, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
ok cool thanks, thats what i was thinking might happen. But when i googles the quesion I got mixed answers. I will just bite the bullet and buy some kanaflex.

russau

Gold Member
May 29, 2005
St. Louis, missouri
what you have drawn wont work! you have to have the required pressuer to get the needed vacum to suck the gold up. this design dont have it. the only way it could work is if you have gotten your water from the stream way up above and the stream had a lot of drop to gain the needed water pressure.........then it could(maybe) work.

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting