Help with possible trail signs along a river

ghost_rider

Apr 20, 2008
NOTE: I posted these photos and info on another page but thought I should also post them here for additional comments.

I am somewhat new to the hunting of trial markers and this week while on vacation I did some hiking in a very historic area.

While stomping around I located a unique pile of rocks at the mouth of a cave along the river I was hiking. There are two larger rocks that are about three feet from each other, both having unique and unusual carving. I guess I should note that the cave has a fresh water spring flowing from it, you can't miss it if you are crusing along the river!!!!

You can see these in the two photos below, the first you will note a large "V" notch carved into the top of the rock with an "M" below and large hole and smaller dimple to the lower left of the notch. The hole may be natural but I am very suspect of the "V" notch as it doesn't seem natural.

The second photo shows the rock laying three feet from the first photo. This rock appears to may be have some directions with the number 4 below. Looks like an "A" with a half diamond attached to the left tail of the letter.

I was hoping that someone could help me identify and interpret these signs if they are signs. PLEASE NOTE: there are several modern carvings in these rocks as well, these modern carving consist of people's names who have swam in the river at this location..... I identified the name KRIS and other letters that were too worn to read. The marks in the photos are the only ones I suspect to be trail markers.

I will post a wider shot of both rocks if need so that the entire enterance to the cave can be seen along with these two rocks in front.

If additional info needed please let me know.

Attachments

• P1010252-c.JPG
    P1010252-c.JPG
    70.9 KB · Views: 1,233
  • P1010253-c.JPG
    P1010253-c.JPG
    70.9 KB · Views: 1,201
  • P1010252-c.JPG
    P1010252-c.JPG
    70.9 KB · Views: 1,186