highbanker question

Klondike Steve

Tenderfoot
May 6, 2012
Georgia
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey! I finally figured out how to get on this great forum. Practical question here. I've been panning for about 1-1/2 yrs. here in N. GA with moderate success. Got a coupla grams last week, so I got the fever bad. I want to move up to a highbanker since I've got some access to private land. Here is my dilemma. I built a nice highbanker out of an old carpet cleaning machine. Problem is that it is 20" wide and 50" long. I'm on a budget and want to supply enough water via a gas powered pump. Should I get a 2 hp 1" pump with 2250 gph or a 6hp 2" clear water pump with 9000 gph? Should I look for a pump with trash capacity or just filter a clear water pump carefully. Both of these pumps can be purchased at Harbor Freight (China) for under $160. Any comment would be appreciated.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Jan 31, 2013
Yuma, Az
Detector(s) used
Gold Bug II
Primary Interest:
Prospecting

Vance in AK

Feb 15, 2010
Kenai, Alaska
Detector(s) used
Fisher GB II. Whites GM II.
Hi Steve.
Some of the guys here can give you technical answers with the exact volume you will need for that sluice (although riffle design will help them greatly). BUT, I will say that I don't think either pump will have the needed volume for a 20" wide sluice (length doesn't really matter for water volume). The 1" definetly won't. My 1.5" Honda WX 15 (4320gph) is adequate for my 10" wide sluice but I think 12" wide would be pushing it very far from the water source.

OOOOpppppssss... I was typing while Chris was posting!

OP
OP
K

Klondike Steve

Tenderfoot
May 6, 2012
Georgia
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting