How to properly ask for permission

Mar 25, 2021
NW Indiana
Detector(s) used
AT Max
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This may seem like a dumb question. However, I’ve never done it before. This is all new to me. There are some historic home in my area, and I would love to ask permission to hunt there. Could someone be so kind as to explain:

1. The right way to ask a property owner.
2. Any specific things to say
3. Ive read some places that verbal permission is not a good idea (that its better to get written permission). Is this true?

Thanks!

Upvote 0

CASPER-2

Gold Member
Jan 3, 2012
NEW ENGLAND
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
WHITE'S XLT, PI PRO, GARRETT 2500, 3- FISHER CZ21s, JW FISHER 8X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
might help - wear a USA or tee shirt with flag on it
i always thought if you had a shirt made with
American history saver - American historical society
or your state name (Indiana)history saver on it
Indiana historical society
something to that affect

xr7ator

Gold Member
Sep 2, 2011
Denver, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Gold, ATX, MH7 (oldie!) Minelab Explorer SE Pro, EQ800
I like that, Casper. Hope you're healing up good so you can get back out and kill it with some watery glitter finds!